Last update: Aug 24, 2021 Last update: 24 Aug, 2021


Office: Switzerland
Address: Rue de Lausanne 154, 1202 Geneva
Contact person: Dacio Castillo, Chairperson of WTO
Phone: +41 (0)22 739 51 11
Sectors: Macro-Econ. & Public Finance, Trade Macro-Econ. & Public Finance, Trade
Nr. of employees: 501-1000
Types: Multilateral Multilateral
Status: Active


The World Trade Organization (WTO) was founded in 1995 in Geneva, Switzerland and its main goal is to liberalize and regulate international trade and manage political relations between 164 member states.

The WTO is responsible for drafting and implementing new trade agreements and oversees members' compliance with all the agreements signed by most countries in the world and ratified by their parliaments. The WTO rules regulate trade and economic issues as well as providing a number of benefits for developing countries. According to the declaration, the work of the WTO, similar to GATT beforehand, is based on basic principles including equal rights, transparency, creation of active obligations and safety valves. The WTO can resolve disputes and reduce trade tensions, stimulate economic growth and employment, cut living costs and improve living standards, encourage good governance, help countries develop, support the environment and health and contribute to peace and stability. The WTO pays special attention to developing countries by meeting their special needs in various ways – the WTO Secretariat provides technical assistance, the WTO agreements contain special provisions for developing countries and the Committee on Trade and Development focuses its work in this area. The least-developed countries also receive extra assistance from the WTO.

WTO key sectors: International Trade, Economic Development, Good Governance, Technical Cooperation, Electronic Commerce, Investment, Labour Standards, Environment, etc.

Country eligibility

Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Azores Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda
See more
Afghanistan, Aland Islands, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Azores, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Canary Islands, Cape Verde, Caribbean Netherlands, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Channel Islands, Chile, China, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dem. Rep. Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Commonwealth of, Dominican Republic, Easter Island, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini (Swaziland), Ethiopia, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern Territory, Gabon, Galapagos, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guam, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Heard and McDonald Islands, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Madagascar, Madeira, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norfolk Island, North Korea, North Macedonia, Northern Mariana Islands, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Pitcairn, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Reunion, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Pierre and Miquelon, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, UAE, Uganda, UK, Ukraine, Uruguay, US Virgin Islands, USA, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Circumstantial eligible countries

No information available

Tender Management Modes

Financing agencies
Direct vs. Indirect Management
Contracting Authorities10
Top Implementing Agencies
World Bank HQ(USA)InternationalTrade Centre(HQ) / Centro deComercioInternacionalUnited NationsChildren's Fund(Serbia)United NationsOffice at GenevaOther agencies37.5%12.5%12.5%12.5%25%
World Bank HQ (USA)3
International Trade Centre (HQ) / Centro de Comercio Internacional2
United Nations Children's Fund (Serbia)1
United Nations Office at Geneva1
Other agencies1
ITCWBUNUNICEFOther agencies30.8%7.7%15.4%15.4%30.8%
Other agencies1

Grant Management Modes

Direct vs. Indirect Management
Contracting Authorities6
Top Implementing Agencies
Standards andTradeDevelopmentFacility100%
Standards and Trade Development Facility6