Last update: Feb 9, 2022 Last update: 09 Feb, 2022


Office: Jordan
Address: 36 Jubeiha Amman 11941, Jordan
Contact person: .
Phone: (962-6) 5340401
Awards in: Jordan, Germany, Italy, Spain, Sweden Jordan, Germany, Italy, Spain, Sweden
Sectors: Information & Communication Technology, ... See more Information & Communication Technology, Science & Innovation
Nr. of employees: 201-500
Types: Government Body Government Body
Status: Active


No documents to display


The Higher Council for Science and Technology was established in 1987 under Law Number (30) as a public independent institution and acts as a national umbrella for all science & technology (S&T) activities in Jordan.

The objective of the Higher Council is to build a national science and technology base to contribute to the achievement of development goals, through increasing awareness of the significance of scientific research and development, granting the necessary funding and directing scientific and research activities, within national priorities, in line with development orientations.

The Higher Council was also entrusted with the establishment of specialized centers for R&D activities, the support of innovation and entrepreneurship to contribute to commercialize scientific and technological ideas into products and businesses, the conclusion of agreements relating to cooperation with Arab, regional and international parties, the representation of the Kingdom in scientific and technological activities, at the Arab, regional and international levels.

The Higher Council is chaired by HRH Prince El Hassan Bin Talal, who has been instrumental to the progress of science and technology in Jordan from the beginning.

The Council is constituted of the following:
Vice President (appointed by HRH), the President of the Royal Scientific Society, Secretary General of the Higher Council for Science and Technology, Minister of Planning and International Cooperation Minister of Finance, Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research, Minister of Industry and Trade, Minister of Education, Minister of Telecommunication and Information Technology, Minister of Agriculture, Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources, Chief of the Joint Commission of Staff, President of Amman Chamber of Industry, President of Amman Chamber of Commerce and two qualified and experienced members to be appointed by the President for a two-year renewable period.

Country eligibility

No information available

Circumstantial eligible countries

No information available

Tender Management Modes

Financing agencies