Last update: Jan 14, 2022 Last update: 14 Jan, 2022


Office: Togo
Address: 62 av. de la Libération, BP 1172 Lomé,
Contact person: Serge Ekue, President of BOAD
Phone: +228 22 21 59 06
Sectors: Agriculture, Air & Aviation, Energy, Foo ... See more Agriculture, Air & Aviation, Energy, Food Security, Industry, Commerce & Services, Roads & Bridges, Rural Development, Telecommunications, Transport, Water Navigation & Ports & Shipping
Nr. of employees: 501-1000
Types: Financial Institution Financial Institution
Status: Active


The West African Development Bank (WADB), known in francophone nations as Banque Ouest Africaine de Développement (BOAD), is an international multilateral development bank founded in 1973 with the goal of supporting French-speaking and Lusophone West African states.

The Central Bank of West African States, along with its eight-member nations (including Benin, Burkina-Faso, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo) established the BOAD whose headquarters are in Lome, Togo.

The bank makes long- and medium-term loans to private enterprises that are engaged in regional development initiatives, offers credit lines to support micro-credit programs and small to medium private businesses and also supports debt relief initiatives for member states in exchange for funds being allocated to health projects, namely those concerned with HIV/AIDS, education and infrastructure upgrades.

Country eligibility

Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Azores Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda
See more
Afghanistan, Aland Islands, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Azores, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Canary Islands, Cape Verde, Caribbean Netherlands, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Channel Islands, Chile, China, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dem. Rep. Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Commonwealth of, Dominican Republic, Easter Island, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini (Swaziland), Ethiopia, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern Territory, Gabon, Galapagos, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guam, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Heard and McDonald Islands, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Madagascar, Madeira, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Norfolk Island, North Korea, North Macedonia, Northern Mariana Islands, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine / West Bank & Gaza, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Pitcairn, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Reunion, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Pierre and Miquelon, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, UAE, Uganda, UK, Ukraine, Uruguay, US Virgin Islands, USA, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Circumstantial eligible countries

No information available

Tender Management Modes

Financing agencies
GCFUEMOAAFDKFWOther agencies33.3%8.3%16.7%16.7%25%
Other agencies1
Direct vs. Indirect Management
Contracting Authorities265
Top Implementing Agencies
Societe NationaleDes Eaux DuSenegalMinistry ofSanitation IvoryCoast / Ministèr…NationalElectricityCompany of Bu…Ministry ofInfrastructure(Burkina Faso)Other agencies42.6%16.4%18%21.3%
Societe Nationale Des Eaux Du Senegal26
Ministry of Sanitation Ivory Coast / Ministère de l'Assainissement et de la Salubrité Côte d’Ivoire13
National Electricity Company of Burkina Faso / Société Nationale d’Electricité du Burkina11
Ministry of Infrastructure (Burkina Faso)10
Other agencies1
AFDEIBECAfDBOther agencies42.5%15.8%19.2%21.9%
Other agencies1
Ministry of Sanitation Ivory Coast / Ministère de l'Assainissement et de la Salubrité Côte d’Ivoire
National Electricity Company of Burkina Faso / Société Nationale d’Electricité du Burkina