Last update: Mar 25, 2021 Last update: 25 Mar, 2021


Office: Kenya
Address: Bishops Road, Social Security House P.O. Box 40326 – 00100, Nairobi
Contact person: Eng. Peter K. Tum, Principal Secretary
Phone: +254 (020) 2729800/801-819
Awards in: Kenya Kenya
Sectors: Labour Market & Employment, Public Admin ... See more Labour Market & Employment, Public Administration
Nr. of employees: 51-200
Types: Government Body Government Body
Status: Active


No documents to display


The Ministry of East African Community (EAC), Labour and Social Protection was formed as a result of re-organization of Government in May, 2013. The Ministry combined the former Ministry of Labour and part of the former Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Development. The two former ministries have existed in various forms since independence in 1963.

Presidential Circular No. 2 of 2013 which effectively constituted the re-organized government placed the following departments under the Ministry; the Department of Labour, Office of the Registrar of Trade Unions, Directorate of Occupational Safety and Health Services (DOSHS), Department of Children Services, Department of Social Development, Social Protection Secretariat, National Employment Bureau (NEB), Productivity Centre of Kenya (PCK) and the Directorate of National Human Resource Planning and Development. Others are the Semi-Autonomous Government Agencies (SAGAs) namely the National Industrial Training Authority (NITA), National Council for Persons With Disability (NCPWD) and National Council for Children Services. The only Autonomous Government Agency (AGA) under the Ministry’s mandate is the National Social Security Fund (NSSF).

Country eligibility

No information available

Circumstantial eligible countries

No information available

Tender Management Modes

Financing agencies