European Commission Directorate-General for International Partnerships (EuropeAid HQ)

Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme

Last update: Jun 20, 2024 Last update: Jun 20, 2024


Location:Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, ... See more Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia
Contracting Authority Type:Development Institution
Budget: EUR 27,000,000
Award ceiling: EUR 60,000
Award floor:N/A
Sector:Education, Labour Market & Employment, Social Development, Training
Eligible applicants:Unrestricted / Unspecified
Eligible nationalities:Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, ... See more Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia
Date posted: Apr 5, 2023

Attachments 16


Call updates

Oct 5, 2023 10:21:28 AM


Published: 04.04.2023

Deadline: 15.06.2023

Available budget: EUR 27.000.000,00

The results of the evaluation are as follows:

Number of proposals submitted: 127

Number of inadmissible proposals: 5

Number of ineligible proposals: 23

Number of above-threshold proposals: 77

Total budget requested for above-threshold proposals: EUR 135.856.641,79

We recently informed the applicants about the evaluation results for their proposals.

For questions, please contact


Jul 6, 2023 10:13:58 AM

The Call NDICI-2023-MOBAF Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme has closed on 15/06/2023 at 17:00:00 (Brussels local time).

128 proposals have been submitted.

Evaluation results are expected to be communicated in October 2023.

Apr 4, 2023 12:00:04 AM

The submission session is now available for: NDICI-2023-MOBAF(NDICI-MOBAF-UN)

Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme


Programme: Neighbourhood, Development and International Cooperation Instrument – Global Europe (NDICI)
Call: Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme (NDICI-2023-MOBAF)
Type of action: NDICI-MOBAF-UN NDICI MOBAF Unit Grants
Type of MGA: NDICI Unit Grant [NDICI-AG-UN]
Deadline model: single-stage
Opening date: 04 April 2023
Deadline date: 15 June 2023 17:00:00 Brussels time

The overall objective of the action is to contribute to the economic, social and human development of Africa by improving the skills and competences of individuals in different areas, in particular those linked to climate change and green transitioning.

The Specific Objectives of the action are to:

Promote inclusive learning mobility opportunities, with a focus on the participation of women and on climate change;
Increase the employability and entrepreneurship of higher education students and trainees, specifically in green jobs;
Improve the quality, relevance, internationalisation and climate change focus of higher education in Africa.
The Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme is the EU’s programme to encourage international learning mobility across the African continent by providing support for consortia of African Higher Education Institutions and scholarship opportunities for African trainees, students and staff.

The action is part of the Youth Mobility for Africa flagship in the field of Education and Training under the Global Gateway Africa-Europe Investment Package and it aims to support learning opportunities and exchanges and ultimately to promote Africa as an attractive study destination.

This call is open to all themes/subject areas relevant to the action’s objectives. An established percentage of indicatively 40% of the selected projects will address the thematic fields related to environment and climate change with a focus on adaptation and mitigation.

Expected Impact:
The expected outputs linked to the specific objectives include:

Improved mechanisms for the international transparency and recognition of studies/degrees and qualifications in the participating HEIs.
Improved knowledge transfer, quality of higher education and information exchange on study opportunities in the African Higher Education and Research Space between HEIs.
Strengthened HEIs capacity to manage international partnerships, mobility flows and career services.
Increased partnerships and networks among HEIs in Africa, in particular in the research area at regional and continental level
Enhanced cooperation of HEIs and business, including on climate change area.
Enhanced knowledge, competences, skills and employability of scholarship holders
Increased participation of women and people from disadvantaged backgrounds.
Knowledge, competences and skills in the field of climate change adaptation and mitigation are strengthened across countries and stakeholders.
More African women hold a university degree, and access to HEIs is diversified with special attention to students with special needs or vulnerable status (e.g. coming from disadvantaged socio-economic backgrounds, fragile and least developed countries/regions, with a refugee status).

Want to unlock full information?
Member-only information. Become a member to access this information. Procurement notices from over 112+ donors and banks are available here
Learn more about our membership benefits
Similar grants
By Locations
Funding agency:
Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Caribbean Netherlands, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Cuba, Dem. Rep. Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Commonwealth of, Dominican Republic, Easter Island, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini (Swaziland), Ethiopia, Falkland Islands, Fiji, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern Territory, Gabon, Galapagos, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guam, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Heard and McDonald Islands, Honduras, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Pitcairn, Puerto Rico, Reunion, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, St. Pierre and Miquelon, Sudan, Suriname, Tanzania, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uruguay, US Virgin Islands, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe